Both medical and adult-use cannabis are illegal in Kansas, and possession of any amount of cannabis is considered a class B misdemeanor. The state allows the sale and use of CBD products with 0% THC. Medical patients with a letter from a doctor won’t face a conviction for possession of CBD oil with up to 5% THC, but can still be arrested and charged with possession
Kansas cannabis laws
Kansas is still a full prohibition state for cannabis, with harsh punishments for possession, growing, and intent to sell.
Possession of any amount of flower or concentrate is a misdemeanor with six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Selling any amount of cannabis is an automatic felony, with at least 14 months in jail and fines of $300,000 and more. Cultivation of more than four plants is also an automatic felony, facing at least 46 months of jail time and fines of $300,000 – $500,000.
Paraphernalia is also illegal in Kansas. Storing paraphernalia like bongs or bowls and having equipment to grow five or fewer plants is a misdemeanor that carries one year in jail and a fine of $2,500. If you possess paraphernalia to “cultivate five plants or more” you’ll face a felony charge with jail time and a $100,000 fine.
Cannabis in Kansas
The state government of Kansas has historically taken an intolerant stance on cannabis. The state banned the substance in 1927 and still abides by most of the original prohibition laws today. Since 2018, CBD and hemp have been legalized to some degree, but Kansas is still a full cannabis prohibition state.
The state does have an industrial hemp industry, albeit a restrictive one. Growers must apply for a license through the state and can only use state-approved seeds. Industrial hemp is defined as hemp with 0.3% THC or less. This definition means farmers cannot sell Kansas-grown hemp in Kansas, as it exceeds the state limit of 0% THC.
Kansas medical marijuana program
Kansas does not have a medical marijuana program. At the end of the 2022 legislative session, lawmakers voted to form a committee dedicated to exploring the creation of a program for the 2023 legislative session. Lawmakers tried to pass two bills in 2022 to create a legal medical program, but both failed. Kansas representatives have been trying to pass a medical marijuana program since 2013 with no success.
In June 2022, the Governor signed a law that allows Kansas residents to take FDA-approved medication that contains or was derived from cannabis.
In 2019, “Claire and Lola’s Law” was passed, which gives legal defense for possession of CBD-rich oils with up to 5% THC for qualified patients and parents of minors with qualifying conditions. This law does not legalize CBD-rich oil, nor does it allow for the sale or production of the oil. It also does not stop people from being arrested for possessing CBD oil with up to 5% THC; it prevents convictions and children from being removed from the home as long as you have a letter from your doctor within the last 15 months.
CBD laws in Kansas
CBD is legal in Kansas as long as it contains no THC. This is different from the federal stance on CBD, which allows for up to 0.3% THC content. There is still harsh enforcement of cannabis prohibition, and law enforcement has raided hemp stores for carrying items believed to be illegal.
Kansas law prevents convictions for possessing CBD oil with up to 5% THC for qualified patients with doctor’s notes, but it does not prevent arrests, nor legalize the possession.
You can still find CBD isolates for sale in Kansas, though full-spectrum products that contain THC are illegal and broad-spectrum products fall into a legal grey area.
Can you grow your own weed?
No, you cannot grow your own cannabis plants in Kansas.
Can you bring or buy weed in Kansas?
No, bringing cannabis over state borders is illegal. Since cannabis is still illegal in Kansas, the only place to buy THC products is on the illegal or black market. These products are untested and unregulated, so consume them at your own risk.
The post Cannabis laws in Kansas appeared first on The Cannigma.